Monday, December 31, 2012

Resolutions

Be the change you wish to see in the world
-Gandhi

     It's that time of year again, kids.  Time to welcome in a new year, time to evaluate our successes and failures of this year and resolve to make the next one better.  For several years I merely vowed to "do better".  That worked for awhile.  Now I think I will be more deliberate, more intentional, more specific, and then this time next year, we can see how I did... and I challenge you to do the same... in the comment section if you dare!

  1. Let more go.  This was one of mine last year, I am not great at it, but when I did, man, it felt GOOD!
  2. Write more down.  This was one last year, too.  Took me til October to get this blog started, but you know what they say-- good girls keep diaries, the rest of us don't have time :)
  3. Get rid of stuff I don't use, don't need, don't want, don't like-- this is about 1/2 my house!  Seems like this will be therapeutic or cleansing or prioritizing or something.  Or maybe I will at least find some neat shit I forgot about!
  4. Say fuck less.
  5. Say fuck in front of my child less.  In fact, use a kinder tone more overall.
  6. Lose  50 30 more pounds and buy a sparkly dress.  I really want a sparkly dress for New Years, but I do not want to look like a disco ball.  I just really like to sparkle.
  7. Be more responsible with my money.  Yeah, there, I admit it.  I suck.  When it comes down to it, I would rather have new boots than pay the student loan people, because really, I feel like that was predatory lending and they NEVER should have given me that much money in the first place.  I was an 18 year old social work major for Christssake and now nobody even cares, Obama won't even tweet me back about it. It stresses me out and boots will make me feel better... but... that cycle HAS to break because, well, I am BROKE.
  8. Find someone who loves me like this:
yeah, so maybe this one is not in my control,  See #1.  I am a work in progress!

So, what is on your list??

Thursday, November 22, 2012

Whiskey Bent and Beach Bound

"I guess I went and broke their family traditions"

Happy Thanksgiving! I truly have so much to be thankful for. Though things have not always been easy, we have kept a roof above, had plenty of food, clothes
and friends. As my grandmother says, "may you always have enough."

Today after a gluttonous feast with my family, my daughter and I will begin our trek 17 hours South with my sister (who is actually my ex-husband's sister) to visit my step kids, their half- brother, my ex's first wife, her boyfriend and his daughter... Because we like to keep things traditional.

But, even though our "family tradition" sounds more in line with Hank Jr. than Norman Rockwell, I am so blessed to have my step-people, my in-laws, and all my CHOSEN family. I am thankful that my daughter and my step kids are growing up knowing that "love" and "family" are where you find it, and when you find it- hold on to it!

My chosen family and I have cared and fought like family. We have loved the same children, we have married and buried the same man, we have shared the same grief and guilt and sorrows. And we continue to share meals, drinks, and strength to carry each other through.

Tradition in my home does not come stuffed in a turkey, it is not a recipe, or a picture perfect table scene. My hope is that the traditions in my home will be to love one another and to make everyone welcome at our table.

Hope you and your family are as blessed!

Friday, October 26, 2012

Life is Fine by Langston Hughes

Just an old favorite I thought I would share:

Life Is Fine 
by Langston Hughes

I went down to the river,
I set down on the bank.
I tried to think but couldn't,
So I jumped in and sank.

I came up once and hollered!
I came up twice and cried!
If that water hadn't a-been so cold
I might've sunk and died.

But it was Cold in that water! It was cold!

I took the elevator
Sixteen floors above the ground.
I thought about my baby
And thought I would jump down.

I stood there and I hollered!
I stood there and I cried!
If it hadn't a-been so high
I might've jumped and died.

But it was High up there! It was high!

So since I'm still here livin',
I guess I will live on.
I could've died for love--
But for livin' I was born

Though you may hear me holler,
And you may see me cry--
I'll be dogged, sweet baby,
If you gonna see me die.

Life is fine! Fine as wine! Life is fine!

At the Alter with 2Pac

“And though we had it rough, we always had enough” -2Pac
                This is a little blog for my godson Elijah and a little girl named Corinne (That’s a 2Pac reference for those of you who don’t know).  Over the past years his “Keep Ya Head Up” has become somewhere between my single-mom anthem and the soundtrack to my life.  I find myself listening to it during those sacred 15 minutes between dropping of my not so much of a morning person eleven year old and arriving at work to face the unknown.  Some days I find myself turning it on again in the car on the way home after avoiding calls all day from 1-800 numbers wanting the money I owe them, getting calls from the school, balancing my bank account over and over in my head and praying for a fishes and loaves type miracle which would allow $40.00 to pay for food, gas, a Halloween costume, the book fair, the cable bill, and well, the student loans—that is another post for another day!  Like the song says, “Tryin to make a dollar out of fifteen cents, it’s hard to stay legit and still pay the rent.” 
                Then come the really hard days when I put it on repeat and climb into the bathtub and just cry. Because “Tupac cares if don’t nobody else care.”  I guess it is fitting, since I spent so much of my teens and early twenties “praying to the porcelain God”  that my thirties have brought me to a newfound alter just to its left.  The bathtub is the ultimate single mom breakdown spot.  It’s warm, it’s relaxing, and if your kids come in (and, of course they will, who are we kidding—10 minutes alone? Yeah right) you can splash your face with water and they will think you are just wet -- not crying because you are exhausted and lonely and scared shitless.  And bathrooms and bathtubs seem to have a certain quiet echo which complements my squeaky, teary rendition of 2Pac:  Because there's too many things for you to deal with/Dying inside, but outside you're looking fearless/While tears, is rollin down your cheeks/Ya steady hopin things don't fall down this week”.   Maybe my bathtub moments are the darkest hour before dawn, but just maybe the echos of the ceramic and the water carry the cries and the anger and the questions right on up to God’s ears.  Once I run out of hot water and tears, I pull the plug on it and get out to face life again, because by then, something else is probably broken and there is laundry and homework to be done.  But somehow, things feel better.
                People tell me all the time, “I don’t see how single parents do it.”  Trust me, some days I don’t know either.  Often I try to respond with the optimistic response, “Just like any other parent, we give it 100% and at the end of the day, hope it was enough,”  which is true.  But the other day when my friend told me she didn’t know how I did it all on my own, I leveled with her and said, “Barely. And sometimes not very well.  Sometimes I am barely hanging on.  I am broke, and I am broken down.”  And that is true, too.  After battling with my child, battling with work, battling with her school and trying to maintain a budget, a household , a social life and some semblance of sanity, it leaves you depleted at best, defeated at times.   Sometimes the best parenting I can pull off is to not take my shoe off and throw it at her in the backseat.  It is exhausting and lonely and terrifying enough to make a grown woman go hide in the damn bathtub and cry!  Add in a touch of PMS, an extra bill or a flat tire and it is enough to push you right over the f’n edge—I write this as I enjoy a mental health day off from work because I had been dancing on the edge so long I could feel my blood pressure in my eyes.  
                So how do I do it?  I do as much as I can of what I HAVE to do,  I do a little of what I OUGHT to do, and I try to do something I WANT to do every day.  I remind myself that I CHOSE to have this baby, I CHOSE to bring her home and raise her as my own, and it is no longer about me, I am just a character in the story of her childhood.  I try not to let my past mistakes become her burden, to give her my best. I remind myself that just because I am a single mom, does not mean I am doing this alone—not by a long shot.  It takes a village and I know who my crazy village people are—my mom, my friends, my family, my coworkers, my church, and especially my other single mom friends—we have all pitched in to help raise one another’s kids and raise one another’s spirits.  I curl up with my precious baby girl, who is the best thing that ever happened to this tired, worn down, crazy mama.  And then I fall asleep, thankfully, because it is exasperating to be me and tomorrow, like my 2Pac, it will all be on repeat. 
                Be kind to a single mom today, or she may go gangsta on you.  As for me, time to get out of the bathtub- I am out of hot water.